Black Wednesday: Terrorism in New Delhi

Today after my Process Engineering course Anna Schumacher, another American Rotary Scholar in New Delhi, called me to tell me that a terrorist attack had taken place at the High Court in New Delhi, 10km away from the IIT.  Four people had been confirmed dead, and at least thirty were injured.  We talked for a few more minutes, I told her I was about to grab lunch, and she said goodbye and I hung up the phone.  Then – nothing happened.  I told my friend Amaury about the attack and we looked at some news feeds.  Then we went to the mess to get lunch.  Students there were totally unaffected.  Nobody even felt like telling me about it.  When I asked one student if he had heard about the blast he said “Oh the attack?  Yeah there have been a couple of those over the last year.  We’re pretty used to it.”  Is this what happens in a country where terrorist attacks have become more frequent?  Is this the future of war? It’s total nonchalance.  The some of all fears.

Image Courtesy of Reuters

Comments
One Response to “Black Wednesday: Terrorism in New Delhi”
  1. Lou Mello says:

    I am glad to see that this act of terror affected you, don’t become immune to those feelings, don’t accept terror as common. Rotary is about finding peace and understanding in the world and our Scholars are our best hope for the future, continue to be upset about these occurrences and do your part, no matter how small, to help bring peace.

Leave a comment